My Resources

  • What are ELPS?

    English Language Proficiency Standards (ELPS) 

    The ELPS are a set of standards that all English language learners (ELLs), also known as Limited English Proficient (LEP) students, should master as they acquire English proficiency. They can be broken down into four language domains: listening, speaking, reading, and writing. The ELPS also help teachers plan instruction that will be developmentally appropriate for each English language learner. 

    What are PLDs?

    Proficiency Level Descriptors (PLDs)

    Proficiency Level Descriptors describe what English language learner's can do at each proficiency level as defined by the state of Texas. There are four levels: Beginning, Intermediate, Advanced, and Advanced High. Here is a link to the Texas PLDs.

    We measure student's English language proficiency in each of the four language domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing.

    This is an example of the Texas PLDs for K-12 Speaking:


    Important Acronyms: 

    ELPS- English Language Proficiency Standards

    ELL- English Language Learner

    LEP - Limited English Proficient

    PLD- Proficiency Level Descriptors

    TELPAS- Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System

    ESL- English as a Second Language

    Related Files

      doc Student Friendly ELPS (doc file - 68 KB) 
      Student Friendly English Language Proficiency Standards

      pdf Proficiency Level Descriptors (pdf file - 75 KB) 
      Texas Proficiency Level Descriptors

      pdfpdf file: You need Adobe Acrobat Reader (version 7 or higher) to view this file. Download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader for PC or Macintosh.
      docdoc file: You need the Microsoft Word program, a free Microsoft Word viewer, or a program that can import Word files in order to view this file. To learn more about the free Microsoft Word Viewer, visit the Microsoft Word website.