STAAR Testing

    General Information

    The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) replaced the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) starting in the 2011-2012 school year. This fairly new testing system addresses legislative mandates outlined by Senate Bill 1031 in 2007 and House Bill 3 in 2009. While designed to test students’ knowledge and skills in a deeper way, STAAR will continue to be based on the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS).

    What’s different about STAAR?

    The STAAR tests. . . .

    • Are more rigorous than the TAKS tests
    • Are designed to measure a student’s college and career readiness, starting in elementary (readiness standards will be defined by TEKS considered critical for success in the current grade/course and for preparedness in following grades/courses and ultimately for college and career)
    • Will concentrate on readiness standards (approx. 60-65 percent of the test) but will also assess other TEKS for the current grade/course -- known as supporting standards
    • Will include more difficult testing and require a higher level of student performance

    Elementary Assessments

    • 3rd – Mathematics & Reading (including English and Spanish versions)
    • 4th – Mathematics, Reading & Writing (including English & Spanish versions)

    Middle School Assessments

    • 5th – Mathematics, Reading & Science (including English & Spanish versions)
    • 6th – Mathematics and Reading

    Junior High Assessments

    • 7th – Mathematics, Reading and Writing
    • 8th – Mathematics, Reading, Social Studies and Science

    High School Assessments

    • English I
    • Algebra I
    • Biology
    • English II
    • U.S. History

    Substitute Assessments

    A student is eligible to use a substitute assessment as provided in the Substitute Assessment Standards.  A student who is eligible to substitute an approved assessment as specified in the standards is responsible for providing an official copy of his or her scores from that assessment to their counselor.  The counselor will send the copy of the assessment scores to the Director of Testing and Program Evaluation who will verify the student's score on the substitute assessment and determine whether the student met the performance standard required.  The Director of Testing and Program Evaluation will notify the campus if the student has met the performance standard. 

    Visit TEA website for more information