Return to Headlines

2023 Commitment to Excellence Awards

Jessica Grant was named the Norma J. Paschal Commitment to Children Award winner at the 2023-2024 Commitment to Excellence Awards held on May 11, 2023, at the Schertz Civic Center. Ms. Grant, who teaches science at Samuel Clemens High School, received campus Teacher of the Year recognition as well. 

Other honorees announced at the event were: Stephanie Saenz of Sippel Elementary School as the Elementary School Teacher of the Year, while Megan Hackman of Byron P. Steele High School garnered Secondary Teacher of the Year. Carrie Hoffpauir was also honored as the KENS 5/EXCEL Award winner. 

Commitment to Excellence winners were named in sixteen categories, joining the campus Teachers of the Year. Fifty-four retirees, totaling 1,063 years of employment to SCUC, were recognized for their meritorious service to SCUC. The Innovation Award went to the nineteen teachers taking part in the National Board Cohort, who are working toward their certification. Their cohort leaders, Cassie Allen, and Amanda Kiehle, were also acknowledged. The late Joyce Briscoe, former teacher, and school board trustee at SCUC, was inducted into the Hall of Honor. 

Community Partner of the Year designations thanked and congratulated by SCUC, including Daisy Russell, who is a member of the Good Shepherd Catholic Daughters of the America’s Court; Gina Bertrand Martin and Amy Rubio, of the Our Lady of Perpetual Help Youth Group, were also honored with that distinction. 

Volunteers of the Year are Shannel Grizzard, J. Frank Dobie PTC; and Alexandrea Hatfield, O.G. Wiederstein PTC.