Return to Headlines

Valero Alamo Bowl honors three SCUC teachers

Three SCUC teachers were paid a visit and surprised as recipients of the 2023 Valero Alamo Bowl Extra Yard for Teacher Awards. The presentations were made to the visibly shocked and excited teachers who were recognized with the highest honors at the district’s Commitment to Excellence Awards in May.


Stephanie Saenz, Elementary Teacher of the Year, Sippel Elementary School

Megan Hackman, Secondary Teacher of the Year, Byron P. Steele High School

Jessica Grant, Norma J. Paschal Commitment to Children, Samuel Clemens High School.


All three received a $500 grant for a classroom project and tickets for their respective families to attend the Valero Alamo Bowl, scheduled for December 28, 2023 in the Alamodome. They will also be recognized at the bowl game alongside other teachers in the region who have been given the award.


This is the third consecutive year Valero Alamo Bowl and PNC Bank have collaborated on the grants to dedicated teachers. 


Richard Hill and Coin Spaulding from Valero and Ashley Harris from PNC Bank were on hand to make the presentations.